Regrets of a Saviour

The collar holds tight around my neck,

You buckled me up yet look nervous

When I snap my teeth and snarl.

You put this in me,

Gave me my fight back.

Poured a fire into my belly

Too ferocious to stamp out

You awakened in me a lust that had died,

Fanned a flame of existence

Reignited something in the darkness

That which slumbered peacefully

Unaware

Until you rattled that rusty gate

Yet now, here you stand

Hesitant

As I strain against my leash

And all the while you think

How to subdue me once more.

9 comments

Leave a Reply

