The Word

“Do you understand what I’m saying?”
She peers over her spectacles, searching my face for a trace of emotion.
I am a curiosity to her.

Slowly she repeats the question
And waits for the anticipated response.

This does not happen, it cannot happen
For that, is not who I am.

I am born of passion, anger and strength
Raised with courage, filled with infliction
Moulded by deception and lacquered with lies
Grown to withstand the storm of adversity
Weathered by love and stained with disappointment

I will not crumble under a word!
(Which I cannot yet commit to vocalize)

Squamous…. common… epithelium….

The words waltz into a tango, but my dancing partner has flown.
The word – Sits – Alone, like me.
Tap,
tapping,
it’s consistent beat to the sound of her voice.

Standing to leave, I feel the word:

Hanging

Today I will not allow it to follow me home.
Today it can stay here, with her – and dance to the tune of disappointment
Today I refuse to accept the invitation
Today I shall not acknowledge any existence

Today, I am the lead

Leave a Reply

