Sometimes Words Stick

It’s the surprising tone of them
Those secular words
And offset phrases
That topple from your mouth
And hit me like truck
They fall
Like snowflakes in June
Emerge
As an earthquake in Brixton
Their unexpected arrival
Inspiring awe
Inviting fascination
They seep into a mind
Like mine
Stir with imagination
And repeat
The words turning
Over and over, in my ears
On my tongue
Mouthing the meter
As the image plays through
In my mind’s eye
Again
I can’t imagine it,
but I like to try

“Body slamming walls in the shower”

Leave a Reply

