Approaching Acheron

I am writing this because you are not
I’m writing because your tongue lays still,
at the side of your mouth
I am writing because you are gone
Shipped back to those lonely shores of time
Of mortality
Awaiting the boat to collect
Ready to press that coin deep into the palm of Charon
Eager to journey to the underworld
Explore the depths of her caverns
You bound towards the idle existence
Caught up in the notion of ease,
of diminished responsibility
no sense of care
Your desire to ride the ebb and flow of oblivion
To leave without valediction
And yet I still hope for your return
That my voice might still reach you
As I follow defiantly,
The ladder thick with flesh and bone

Leave a Reply

