Perchance to Dream

Tonight I cannot sit here
Imagining your tongue slipping into my ear
Feeling your slender fingers cup my breast
Leaving my chest on fire
Whilst you breathe deeply on my neck
Tasting the salt of my skin
with your teeth

Instead, tonight I must dream
To close my eyes and ears to the world
Inhale slumber as if it were my air
and clamber through the rocky depths
of replenishment, relaxation.
Tonight I must know sleep,

Yet part of me still hopes for that
chance encounter
in the bakery aisle
So I can tell you that almond croissants
are just as nice as chocolate ones
If shared with pleasant company.

Leave a Reply

