Egg – SoCS

Over at Linda’s blog for the prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “egg.”

I had some train time without internet to kill so this prompt was a lovely thing to fill the gap, thank you Linda 🙂

 

EGG

What it the chicken of the egg that came first? Obviously those cunning folk among us know that the answer to this age old question is the egg. Ok,so it wasn’t a chicken egg, but a lizard or fish egg is still an egg never the less and why should they count of any less value. It reminds me of a poems I once read as a child and whilst I enjoyed the rhyme enjoy to remember it, I guess at the time that I never really understood it.

The codfish lays ten thousand eggs
The humble hen lays one
The codfish never cackles
to tell usewhat she’s done
But we all scorn the codfish
Whilst the humble hen we prize
Which only goes to show you that it pays to advertise

But isn’t it a great little poem and actually shines quite a truth on real life: those that shout the loudest do seem to get more out of life, whilst the quiet hard workers continue to strive on and get passed over. (walks away from the rant)
Now I remember this poem from a poetry book that I used to have as a young child, I can’t remember the book title or the poet and maybe even some of the words are incorrect but it is from an old memory. This isn’t the only poem I remember from being a child, which I think is testement to how poetry can really make an impact on people, or children even. I think it was the rhyme that made it stick, along with others such as Gerry the giraffe and Rhubarb Teb. Even the old Oliphant which I only found out as an adult came from a book: Tolkien – Lord of the Rings. When I think to myself of all the poems and song lyrics that I can remember it’s actually a fair amount of memory, yet I cannot seem to remember where I leave keys or recall conversations I have had the previous day: what’s with that?

Sometimes my mind draws such a blank on simple everyday things and I can’t work out how it can be so good for silly non important facts yet I can’t retain information that would be helpful. Perhaps my brain is just wired to prefer absorbing enjoyment rather than function.

So the prompt was egg right? *makes mental note to purchase Easter eggs in the sales to top up the chocolate supplies*

 

5 comments

  1. Cute poem. It’s true – some things stick with us and yet everyday things fly right over our heads. I think it has something to do with how much multitasking we do… 🙂
    Thanks so much for joining in, Ginni! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hey, Ginni! That is a cute little poem. I’d never heard it before. I can see how it would stick in your mind. You know, I think ads with jingles do the same, to stick in your mind, to remember their product. Some are so annoying though! … I like your Egg post! 🙂 … and thank you so much for the follow!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

